January 22, 2019 | ° F

1/21/2019 8:31pm

EDITORIAL: Martin Luther King Jr.’s legacy continues

We must bear witness to the hollowing of his prophetic words of liberation. The regressive sanitation of his messages emerge in the speech of those whose actions diminish the progress of the past and obstruct change today. The legacy of Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. has been distorted to further antithesis goals of hate, injustice and inequality.

1/21/2019 7:22pm

WASON: We must ‘wage’ war on low minimum pay

Last week, legislators in New Jersey agreed to a deal which will raise the minimum wage across the state to $15 per hour by 2024. Today, it is time to acknowledge just how good that news really is. Since its conception in 2012 when thousands of fast food workers went on strike in New York City, the Fight for $15 movement has been subject to an array of misguided criticism.

1/21/2019 7:24pm

SINGH: Conversion therapy must be rejected, increase acceptance

Close your eyes and imagine ... Or rather open your eyes and simply look around you. The year is 2019. We are living in a society that has introduced electric as well as self-driving cars to our ever-growing highways. We have the International Space Station floating 32,333 cubic feet in volume, functioning in pressurized space. We have "smart shoes" that are capable of lacing themselves up. Yet, despite all the technological progress we have made, we still have very problematic ideologies that have not kept up with our other advances, one being sexualism. 

Multimedia


Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 11.35.08 PM.png
12/11/2018 1:17am

EDITORIAL: Growth hides debt, poverty, wage issues

Politicians, economists and political pundits have touted the fall of joblessness and the growth of economic stability as the nation continues to recover from the Great Recession. While the used statistics and anecdotes depict an economy resuscitated and growing, the deep wounds of debt and economic immobility stretch across the country. 

12/11/2018 1:08am

PANISH: To be empathetic, we need in-group bias

The opinion piece that appeared in The Daily Targum on Dec. 7 titled “Awareness of Cognitive Biases Can Empower Us” tapped into a fascinating conversation about human psychology. As its author Dilara Guvercin rightly notes, the study of cognitive biases (the “systematic ways in which the context and framing of information influence individuals’ judgment and decision-making”) is very hot in the field of social psychology right now. 

12/11/2018 1:20am

SINGH: We must confront harmful immigration misinformation

The new year is approaching and with that, we should let go of false antiquated ideas and let in new accurate ones. This year alone has almost been a test to see how many immigrant-based false myths can be bought by the public. There are many beliefs that have circulated, but only a handful have been backed by evidence. 

DSC_2205.JPG
12/9/2018 10:40pm

SAJU: Allies need awareness of identity, privilege

Being an ally is a good thing, but only when it is done with the right intentions. Wearing the term "ally" on your sleeve does not inherently give you the right to call attention to your own support instead of the actual issues at hand. 

Screen Shot 2018-12-09 at 10.37.22 PM.png
12/9/2018 10:38pm

EDITORIAL: Democrats open door for gerrymander

The partisan practice of manipulating district lines is an undemocratic crack in the foundation of America since the nation was first formed. From the rotten boroughs in England, to Patrick Henry attempting to gerrymander James Madison out of Virginia, to the cracking and packing of 2010, redistricting is one of the oldest continued abuses of power in our democratic experiment. 

12/9/2018 10:34pm

ON THE FRONT LINES: U. ought to replace final exams with functional alternatives

Finals week is as much of a legend on college campuses as it is a reality. For some, it can make or break their grades for the semester. It is not rare for a class’s only grades to be the midterm and the final, which puts a tremendous amount of pressure on students to perform well on their exams. With the mental health struggles many students face on college campuses, it is time to move away from high-pressure testing and move toward methods of assessment that take pressure off of students and are more practical and relevant to their fields of study.

Screen Shot 2018-01-18 at 6.46.54 PM.png
12/7/2018 2:31am

WEEK IN REVIEW: Laurels and Darts | December 7, 2018

ADDRESSING OPIOIDS In order to address the growing opioid epidemic that is wreaking havoc across New Jersey and the nation, the researchers in Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS) will be forming a new series of workshops to address the problem. The opioid epidemic kills approximately 3,000 people in New Jersey every year, according to Rutgers Today. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) released statistics that said drug overdoses reached a new high in 2017, killing more than 70,000 Americans nationwide, according to the article. The state and the U.S. are dealing with a public health crisis, and we laurel RBHS for taking a role in addressing the epidemic. 

malaikajawed.jpg
12/7/2018 2:32am

JAWED: We can reach fulfillment through personal narratives

In Emily Esfahani Smith's Ted Talk titled "There is more to life than being happy," she discusses that in her research, she has discovered four things that actually make people fulfilled. Combining her studies in psychology, neuroscience and philosophy, she stated the four pillars of fulfillment as follows: a sense of belonging, finding purposes (not the same thing as finding a job that makes you happy), stepping beyond yourself and storytelling. 

More Opinions