March 18, 2018 | ° F

3/7/2018 9:11pm

DEANGELO: Young people may spend too much time on phones

It is the first thing many do in the morning. By way of groggy eyes, we all can admit to checking our screens for the day’s weather, news and occasional mind-numbing Instagram post at least once. Or twice. Or 86 times a day if you are between the ages of 18 and 24, according to recent data. 

3/7/2018 9:10pm

O'BRIEN: Trump's tariffs will hurt American workers

President Donald J. Trump last week announced steep new tariffs on steel and aluminum imports from around the world, yet another step toward economic protectionism and away from free trade. With more general remarks in favor of reducing the country’s trade deficit, he signaled tariffs on more goods may be on the way. 

Screen Shot 2018-03-07 at 8.30.16 PM.png
3/7/2018 11:47pm

EDITORIAL: At first glance, DACA protest seems to violate U. policy

At 5 p.m. on Monday, members of multiple University-affiliated groups took to the streets of New Brunswick to march in support of a “clean” Dream Act for undocumented students and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) recipients that does not criminalize communities and separate families. The activists marched on the street from the Brower Commons steps all the way to the Douglass Student Center, holding banners that said things like, “#HERETOSTAY” and “NODREAMDEFERRED.” Considering the fact that this demonstration took place around rush hour, it resulted in a certain degree of traffic delays — which were likely frustrating to some. 


3/6/2018 11:52pm

EDITORIAL: U. lack of snow days may not be so unreasonable

Rutgers students will get to experience a little preemptive taste of spring break today as a result of the snow storm. To many students this may come as somewhat of a surprise, as this snow day is a rare occasion — something the University takes a lot of backlash for. The closing of all offices and cancellation of classes is in accordance with Gov. Phil Murphy’s (D-N.J.) declaration of a state of emergency, which is interesting because it seems it takes an extremely high standard of danger and inclement weather, such as the one we are presented with, for the administration to make the decision to close.  

3/6/2018 9:08pm

HINRICHS: Americans must oppose measures to diminish financial protections

A man with a vision of unregulated growth and prosperity looked out at the self-proclaimed epoch of the business world to welcome a new era. His name was Don Regan, and he was the man who could openly tell a president that “You're gonna have to speed it up.” On March 28, 1985, Don Regan, former chairman of Merrill Lynch, stood at the bell in the New York Stock Exchange, while beside him, former President Ronald Reagan called “the bears back into hibernation” and “(turned) the bull loose.”

3/6/2018 12:12am

LETTER: Research as undergraduate can be massively valuable

The year was 1968, and I was a senior at Rutgers — a mere 50 years ago. Two of the greatest thrills that I experienced that year came in the form of an Art History class that I took as an elective and a research project that I chose as a chemistry major. Those Art History lectures were amazing — from Egyptian art, through Impressionism and all the way up to Modern Art. Only a few years ago, when visiting the Orvieto Cathedral in the Umbria region of Italy, the beauty of that Cathedral came back to me in a flash — just like when I first viewed it through my Janson's History of Art book 50 years ago.

3/6/2018 12:13am

LETTER: Muslim Rutgers graduate students are affected by ban

Around this time last year, many of us took to the streets to protest President Donald J. Trump’s Executive Order 13769, commonly known as the "Muslim ban." While the public demonstrations have been somewhat successful in limiting the effects of the executive order, there have been quite a few negative implications caused by the ban including some casualties. One such casualty on our very own campus is the Graduate Muslim Student Association (GMSA). 

3/6/2018 12:36am

PETRUCCI: Discussion on gender requires open mind

I received an invitation to appear on the Tucker Carlson Tonight show to discuss a piece I wrote, which analyzed the correlation between toxic masculinity, gun culture and mass shootings. The Tucker Carlson Tonight show is a Fox News program which “brings you a fast-paced live hour of spirited debate, as (Tucker Carlson) holds those in power to account. Taking no prisoners and calling out the status quo in his signature style, Tucker takes you to every corner of America to cover the issues you care about,” according to the Fox News website.

Screen Shot 2018-03-05 at 9.51.30 PM.png
3/6/2018 1:22am

EDITORIAL: Line between privacy, safety is grey

New Brunswick and Rutgers police utilized a search warrant to raid an off-campus house on the College Avenue campus this past Saturday in response to information that led them to believe the residents were in possession of assault weapons. The situation turned out to be a false alarm, as police found two imitation firearms — one resembling an assault rifle and the other a hand gun. At this time, no charges have been filed against the residents of the house. The information, according to the press release, came from people who had attended a party at the house in question earlier that day. Presumably, these individuals had noticed the weapons and then notified the police out of concern for the safety of the community, and after what happened in Parkland last month, in addition to the many other horrendous cases of that sort, it is reasonable for people to be on-edge about the real possibility of gun violence happening to them. With that said, the situation that unfolded here at Rutgers sparks some important questions. 

3/4/2018 11:43pm

SURIANO: Left criticizes NRA for wrong reasons

Since the Feb. 14  school shooting in Parkland, Florida, which took the lives of 17 teachers and students, the nation has embarked on a debate over guns, the Second Amendment and school safety. In the course of this national debate, some of the most heated criticisms have been thrown toward the National Rifle Association (NRA). Members of the NRA have been accused of buying politicians, have been called murderers and have seen businesses cut ties with them. I understand that politics gets heated especially in the wake of such an unimaginable tragedy, and no one wins an award for politeness. My complaint is not with criticizing the NRA, but rather with the reason the Left is criticizing it. In short, the NRA has been worsening as an organization, but not for the reasons gun control activists argue.

More Opinions